BSJ Open Water Swimming Championships 2017 - Race Six - 2nd August 2017 at Salina Starting at 5:00 p.m.

The sixth and final race in the Birkirkara St. Joseph Open Water Swimming Championships 2017 will be held on Wednesday 2nd August 2017 at Salina starting at 5:00 p.m. The 4-kilometre race will be held on four 1,000-metre laps.

To take part, swimmers should fill and return the race entry form and pay the race entry fee.  Swimmers who have already taken part in the previous races need not fill the entry form, but they have to inform the organisers of their presence for the sixth race and pay the race entry fee. Race registrations will be accepted up to 30 minutes before the start of the race.  Registrations will open at 3:30 p.m. at the race venue. Swimmers are to read carefully the race regulations and the Club's Events Participation Disclaimer before taking part.

In this sixth race, the start will be staggered in three waves for the main event. (The starting order can be downloaded from this website) For this reason, all swimmers will be asked to leave the water five minutes before the start of the race, and are to re-enter only when their names or race numbers are called.  The first 28 swimmers in the overall classification as published by the Club will make up the first wave to start.  The next 28 swimmers will make up the second wave and the rest will be in the third wave.  The waves will start at a three-minute interval.  Swimmers 14 years of age or under, who qualify to start in the first wave, may opt to start in the second or third waves after approval is sought from the organisers.  Finishing times in the final classification will be adjusted accordingly. Swimmers taking part for the first time in these championships will be included in the third wave.  Swimmers doing the one-kilometre race, may be included in a fourth wave.  This final four-kilometre race is compulsory for inclusion of swimmers already shown in the overall classification.  Furthermore, this race is serves as a qualifier, in terms of the relative rules, for swimmers who will be applying for the Club organized Gozo-Malta and Malta-Gozo-Malta Open Water Swimming Competitions.

Swimmers have to use a cap during the races, and may use wetsuits of any kind.  However, those using such wetsuits (except those wetsuits of a thickness equal to or less than 0.5 mm), although they will have their finish time recorded, they will not be eligible to be included in the championships classifications.

The presentation ceremonies of medals in terms of the championships’ regulations will be held immediately the race finishes, for the first three females and the first three males. Qualifying swimmers who will not turn up for this presentation ceremony will be disqualified.

The Entry Form and disclaimer may be downloaded from this website.  The Entry Fee can also be paid on line.

Upcoming Events


Garmin Malta supports Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club

Garmin Malta today announced that it has entered into a partnership agreement with Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club wherein it confirmed its support for the Club’s Open Water Swimming competitions for a period of thre...


New Administration Office for Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club

The administration offices were officially opened in the presence of Mr. Raymond Grech, Club President and blessed by the St. Joseph the Worker Parish Priest the Rev. Fr. Josef Mifsud. In attendance were the Club's Execu...


BSJ Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Road Running Races 2018 - 13th December 2018

The 2018 Editions of the BSJ Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Road Running Races - the 10 kilometres and the 5 kilometres - will be held on Thursday, 13th December 2018 at Fleur-de-Lys, starting at 8:30 a.m....

View All Events