Birkirkara St. Joseph’s top cyclists confirmed their unbeatable form by winning the major honours in the second race of the national individual time trial championships organised by the Malta Cycling Federation. This second race was held in perfect conditions on the Mriehel bypass on Sunday 3 May 2015. Wayne Spiteri won the Elite Males Category, Michelle Vella Wood won the Females and Shaun Galea won the Juniors.

Birkirkara St. Joseph’s Wayne Spiteri cruised to a comfortable victory, proving that he is virtually untouchable in this discipline.  He won the 24-kilometre chrono in 34 minutes, 47 seconds.  His team-mate Steve Sciberras finished second in 36 minutes, 24 seconds, with third place going to James Mifsud of Team Greens C.C. in a time of 36 minutes, 28 seconds.

The females’ race was a closer affair as Team Greens cyclists Marie Claire Aquilina and Danica Bonello Spiteri, gave the Saints’ rider Michelle Vella Wood a good run for her money.  The latter won the race in 39 minutes, 22 seconds, with Aquilina finishing second in 39 minutes, 36 seconds and Bonello Spiteri finishing third in 40 minutes, 7 seconds. 

Birkirkara St. Joseph registered another major victory in this race as Shaun Galea made it two wins out of two in a time of 37 minutes, 58 seconds in the Juniors Category.  Kurt Muscat of Mosta AF Sign Studio finished second in 38 minutes, 20 seconds, ahead of Birkirkara St. Joseph’s Benjamin Crisp who finished third in 42 minutes, 8 seconds.

In the other categories, Joe Bonello of Team Greens was first in the Over 40’s ahead of Qormi’s Kevin Muscat and Michael Camilleri.  Nicky Farrugia of Mosta AF Sign Studios won the Over 50’s category, and Emanuel Camilleri (Mosta AF Sign Studios) was first in the Over 60’s.

Upcoming Events


Garmin Malta supports Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club

Garmin Malta today announced that it has entered into a partnership agreement with Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club wherein it confirmed its support for the Club’s Open Water Swimming competitions for a period of thre...


New Administration Office for Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club

The administration offices were officially opened in the presence of Mr. Raymond Grech, Club President and blessed by the St. Joseph the Worker Parish Priest the Rev. Fr. Josef Mifsud. In attendance were the Club's Execu...


BSJ Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Road Running Races 2018 - 13th December 2018

The 2018 Editions of the BSJ Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Road Running Races - the 10 kilometres and the 5 kilometres - will be held on Thursday, 13th December 2018 at Fleur-de-Lys, starting at 8:30 a.m....

View All Events