Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club’s cyclists were in dominant form as they carried the main honours in the first race of the individual time trial national champions organized by the Malta Cycling Federation.

(Clockwise: Wayne Spiteri, Michelle Vella Wood, Steve Sciberras, Shaun Galea)

In the Elite Category the Saints grabbed two of the top three places, with Wayne Spiteri winning the race in 31 minutes, 27 seconds, and team-mate Steve Sciberras finishing third in 32 minutes, 31 seconds.  Maurice Formosa of the The Cyclists C.C. was second in 32 minutes, 18 seconds.

Birkirkara St. Joseph’s Michelle Vella Wood confirmed her consistent form by winning the females’ race in 36 minuites, 4 seconds, ahead of Marie Claire Aquilina (36:38) of the Greens C.C. in second place, and Stephanie Alden of The Cyclist C.C. (36:53) in third place.

In the Juniors Category, Shaun Galea made it a hat-trick for Birkirkara St. Joseph, by winning the race in 33 minutes, 58 seconds.  The Mosta AF Sign Studio C.C. duo of Kurt Muscat (34:49) and Mark Farrugia (37:24) finished second and third respectively.

Monica Cutajar of Mosta AF Sign Studio C.C. and Isaac Spiteri of Agones S.C. won their respective Under 15 categories.  Joe Bonello (33:13) of the Greens C.C. was first in the Masters Over 40 category ahead of Kevin Muscat (35:15) of Qormi C.C. and Michael Camilleri (35:43).  Brent Skinner (38:17) was the winner in the Over 50 category, ahead of Emanuel Bezzina (38:41) of Mosta AF Sign Studio C.C.  Emmanuel Camilleri of Mosta AF Sign Studio won the Over 60 category in a time of 40 minutes, 40 seconds.

Race photographs and results may be downloaded from the Birkirkara St. Joseph Cycling Section facebook page.

Upcoming Events


Garmin Malta supports Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club

Garmin Malta today announced that it has entered into a partnership agreement with Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club wherein it confirmed its support for the Club’s Open Water Swimming competitions for a period of thre...


New Administration Office for Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club

The administration offices were officially opened in the presence of Mr. Raymond Grech, Club President and blessed by the St. Joseph the Worker Parish Priest the Rev. Fr. Josef Mifsud. In attendance were the Club's Execu...


BSJ Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Road Running Races 2018 - 13th December 2018

The 2018 Editions of the BSJ Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Road Running Races - the 10 kilometres and the 5 kilometres - will be held on Thursday, 13th December 2018 at Fleur-de-Lys, starting at 8:30 a.m....

View All Events