Neil Agius consolidated his top spot in the Vileda Birkirkara St. Joseph Open Water Swimming Championships 2013 with another victory in the second race of these championships. Reigning champions Hannah Pace opened her defence of the title in style after having missed the first race due to commitments abroad.

Neil Agius (right)

Hannah Pace

Conditions could not have been better for the 100 swimmers starting the 2-kilometre race in the calm waters of Salina.  A sizable crowd lined the foreshore as the first wave of 40 swimmers started the race.  Neil Agius opened an unassailable lead by the start of the second 1000-metre lap to finish the  race in 26 minutes, 39 seconds.  Roberto Demicoli sustained his second placing in a time of 28 minutes, 37 seconds, ahead of Keith Galea who finished in 28 minutes, 48 seconds.

Last year’s winner Hannah Pace was in a class of her own as she swam unchallenged around the 2-kilometre course to win the race in 28 minutes, 52 seconds.  First race winner Michelle Vella Wood was second in 32 minutes, 7 seconds.  Third placed Maria Camilleri showed considerable improvement on the time she registered in the first race, to finish in 32 minutes, 13 seconds.

These open water swimming championships are organised by Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club and sponsored by Vileda.  The third race will be held on Wednesday, 3rd July 2013 at 6:30 p.m.

Upcoming Events


Garmin Malta supports Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club

Garmin Malta today announced that it has entered into a partnership agreement with Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club wherein it confirmed its support for the Club’s Open Water Swimming competitions for a period of thre...


New Administration Office for Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club

The administration offices were officially opened in the presence of Mr. Raymond Grech, Club President and blessed by the St. Joseph the Worker Parish Priest the Rev. Fr. Josef Mifsud. In attendance were the Club's Execu...


BSJ Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Road Running Races 2018 - 13th December 2018

The 2018 Editions of the BSJ Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Road Running Races - the 10 kilometres and the 5 kilometres - will be held on Thursday, 13th December 2018 at Fleur-de-Lys, starting at 8:30 a.m....

View All Events