The 2017 Open Water Swimming Championships organized by Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club under the auspices of the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta will be launched on Wednesday 7 June at 9:00 a.m. at Salina. The 2-kilometre race will be held on two 1,000-metre laps.

This race will inaugurate the Club’s Summer of Sports Programme for 2017, which includes no less than 19 races in road running, swimming, cycling and triathlon.  This programme heralds the first full season the Club will be using electronic timing for the events.

Preparations at the Club are now in full swing, including testing the timing system at Salina.  Transport Malta, through the Ports and Yachting Directorate, have issued the relative permit and notice to mariners announcing the first swim.

To take part, swimmers should fill and return the race entry form and pay the race entry fee.   Race registrations will be accepted up to 30 minutes before the start of the race.  Registrations will open at 7:00 a.m. at the race venue. Swimmers are to read carefully the race regulations and the Club's Events Participation Disclaimer before taking part.

At the start swimmers will be staggered in three waves as decided by the Club’s Swimming Section. For this reason, all swimmers will be asked to leave the water five minutes before the start of the race, and are to re-enter only when their names or race numbers are called.  Each wave will consist of 50 swimmers, and the waves will start at three minutes interval.  Swimmers 14 years of age or under, who qualify to start in the first wave, may opt to start in the second or third waves.  Finishing times in the final classification will be adjusted accordingly. Swimmers taking part for the first time in these championships will be included in the third wave.  Swimmers doing the one-kilometre race, may be included in a fourth wave.

Swimmers have to use a cap during the races, and may use wetsuits of any kind.  However, those using such wetsuits (except those wetsuits of a thickness equal to or less than 0.5 mm), although they will have their finish time recorded, they will not be eligible to be included in the championships classifications.

A medals presentation ceremony will be held immediately after the race for the first three females and first three males. Qualifying swimmers who will not turn up for this presentation ceremony will be disqualified.

The Entry Form and disclaimer may be downloaded from this website.  The Entry Fee can also be paid on line.

Upcoming Events


BSJ Open Water Swimming Championships 2017 - Race Three - 5 July 2017 at Salina

To take part, swimmers should fill and return the race entry form and pay the race entry fee.  Swimmers who have already taken part in the previous races need not fill the entry form, but they have to inform the org...


EUROSPORT BSJ 5K Road Running Series 2017 - Race One on 20 June

Applications will be accepted up to 30 minutes before the start of the race.  However, due to all the Club’s events are now electronically timed, applicants are kindly requested to forward their entry forms ...


Football - I.A.S.C. Second Division League - Phase Two: Birkirkara St. Joseph vs Zurrieq Wolves S.C.

Birkirkara St. Joseph's fourth and final match of the final phase of the 2016/2017 I.A.S.C. second division league will be against table toppers Zurrieq Wolves on Sunday 19th March 2017.  Kick-off is at 11:00 a.m. a...

View All Events