Grech, Galea secure top billing on Birkirkara St. Joseph Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys podium

Over 250 athletes were on the starting line of the Birkirkara St. Joseph Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Road Races Races 2016. These races, which were the last events of the Club’s extensive calendar, has seen substantial growth over the last few years.  In this year’s race, 149 athletes undertook the 10k distance, whilst 115 athletes ran the 5k route.  

These races also attracted popular and some of Malta’s top athletes such as Andrew Grech, Charlton Debono, Simon Spiteri, Rita Galea, Hannah Pace, Angele Satariano, Margaret Seguna and Michelle Vella Wood. 

In the 10-kilometre distance, Andrew Grech stormed to a comfortable victory after leading the way throughout the race finishing in 33 minutes, eight seconds. This was Grech’s fourth consecutive success on this route.  He was followed by Stephen Borg (35:08) and Alan Camilleri (35:15), who both fought a strong and determined contest to the finish with Borg pipping Camilleri to the line by a few seconds. 

In the females’ category, it was veteran runner Rita Galea who won top place on the podium in a time of 38 minutes, 21 seconds, beating last year’s winner Margaret Seguna (40:08) for the top honours.  Although Seguna registered an improvement on last years’ time it was not enough to secure the highest place on the podium.  Michelle Vella Wood was the third female to cross the finish line 40 minutes, 45 seconds.  

In the 5-kilometre race, Charlton Debono continued to show his fine form to be the first male to cross the finish line in a time of 15 mins 12 seconds. Debono has continued his consistent streak having recently won all the three segments of the recently held Eurosport Malta International Challenge Marathon as well as registering a personal best time in the MAAA 5km Road Running League Race recently held in Qrendi. Debono was followed by Dario Mangion (15:56) and Simon Spiteri (16:18) who took second and third place respectively. 

In the females’ race Angele Satariano took first place – notching her first road race win after having returned to running two years ago.  Satariano, finishing in 18 minutes, 55 seconds, was closely followed by National Triathlon Champion Hannah Pace (19:13), with Catherine Chetcuti (19:39) finishing third. 

“We are thoroughly satisfied to have finished 2016 on a high note. The Birkirkara St. Joseph Eurosport Fleur-de-Lys Race is our flagship race which closes off a very busy season for the Club. We have received many positive comments about our race calendar and the work the Club has put in to offer a good race experience for athletes has certainly paid off” remarked Euchar Camilleri, Secretary General, Birkirkara St. Joseph. “We are very grateful to all our sponsors in particular Eurosport, with whom we have a long standing partnership and look forward to growing this partnership further in the coming year. 

Trophies were presented to the winners by Fr. Fr Martin Micallef, Director of Id-Dar tal-Providenza, who was the Club’s chosen official charity for this year. 


Upcoming Events


BSJ Open Water Swimming Championships 2017 - Race Three - 5 July 2017 at Salina

To take part, swimmers should fill and return the race entry form and pay the race entry fee.  Swimmers who have already taken part in the previous races need not fill the entry form, but they have to inform the org...


EUROSPORT BSJ 5K Road Running Series 2017 - Race One on 20 June

Applications will be accepted up to 30 minutes before the start of the race.  However, due to all the Club’s events are now electronically timed, applicants are kindly requested to forward their entry forms ...


Football - I.A.S.C. Second Division League - Phase Two: Birkirkara St. Joseph vs Zurrieq Wolves S.C.

Birkirkara St. Joseph's fourth and final match of the final phase of the 2016/2017 I.A.S.C. second division league will be against table toppers Zurrieq Wolves on Sunday 19th March 2017.  Kick-off is at 11:00 a.m. a...

View All Events