The Swimming Section of the Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club is a very active one with all year round sessions held both at the National Swimming Pool as well as in the open sea. Training, under the guidance of the Club's Head Coach, is given every Saturday morning and the sessions are split up in 3 groups each being coached at different times.

These groups include the beginners, improvers and advanced swimmers. In addition, Club members who are also members of the National Pool, are given two to three weekly session print outs.

The aim of the Club's Swimming Section is to promote the discipline of Open Water Swimming, be it Long Distance Swimming or Marathon Swimming.

The Club organises annually

  • The Birkirkara St. Joseph Open Water Swimming Championships held between June and August,
  • The Gozo-Malta Open Water Swimming Competition (5.5K) held in mid-August, and
  • The Malta-Gozo-Malta Open Water Swimming Competition (11K) held in mid-August.

The Club's Head Coach is Ms Isabelle Zarb, (Level 2 ASA UK).

The members on the Club's Swimming Board are Ms. Isabelle Zarb (Chairperson), Mr. Roberto Demicoli and Mr. Andrew Grech. This Section may be contacted on 79829391 and 99466256.

Record participation for Malta-Gozo-Malta and Gozo-Malta Open Water Swimming Competition

Over 110 swimmers are expected to take part on Saturday, when the annual Malta-Gozo-Malta and Gozo-Malta swim takes place.

Organised by Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club, under the auspices of the Aquatic Sports Association, the competition will be welcoming ninety-seven swimmers for the 5.5km Gozo-Malta route and fourteen swimmers for the 11km Malta-Gozo-Malta route. Both categories have seen a substantial in...

Dylan Cachia, Sarah Demicoli crowned Open Water Swimming Champions

The Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club Open Water Swimming Championships came to a close last week when the sixth and final race of the series was held at Salina.  

The Championships consisted of five 2km swims and a final race of 4kms and the overall and age-group winners in the male and female categories were swimmers with the best accumulated times in five (including the 4km swim) of the six races. The races also served as qualifiers for swimmers w...